A Famous Pub

Eagle and Child

The menu at The Eagle and Child, with a bottle of Dandelion & Burdock.

Something from my spring UK adventure today! When I visited my friend Lauren in Oxford, we had lunch at The Eagle and Child. It’s a small pub on St Giles’ Street, which belongs to St John’s College. More significantly, it’s famous for being a meeting place for the Inklings’ Group: a writer’s group that included J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis. They met regularly in a private room at the back. And I can happily say that the food is good! My steak sandwich and chips were very satisfying. It was also where I had my first encounter with Dandelion & Burdock, which is a very old-fashioned soda that I have to say I wasn’t very keen on. It wasn’t bad, but I definitely wouldn’t make a habit of it.

If you find yourself in Oxford, I definitely recommend checking out The Eagle and Child! Tasty food with a touch of history. An excellent combination.

Address: 49 St Giles’, Oxford, OX1 3LU

Any thoughts?

