The Awesome of Homestay

Homestay, also known as my introduction to Japan and one of the best things I’ve ever done. I was extraordinarily lucky in the figurative homestay lottery because I got the best host family ever, and your mileage may vary, but I think everyone who can do a homestay should. It gives you a better, more rounded perspective, living with a family in a proper home. It’s a very good experience to have.

Now I could just sit here and ramble on… or I could share some pictures from my host family’s house. They have a really, really nice house and they’re kind of old school in a lot of ways. Everything I know about more traditional Japanese family life I learned from living with them.

Onward!

Homestay

The front garden, going up to the door.

Tatami Room

My room. Still my room, in a way, since I was their last host student.

Japanese Home

The front hall from the genkan, where you leave your shoes.

Japanese Bath

And the bath, just for fun.

So homestay. Do it. It’s awesome.

Any thoughts?

