Sunday Sundry

Today was sankanbi at my base school, so I had to go to work. Sankanbi is something Japanese schools do: a day when parents come to observe class and meet the teachers, basically. Despite the fact that English was not on the agenda, I had to go to work and waste my Sunday, anyway. I sat at my desk and studied kanji all morning, then briefly introduced myself to the PTA when all the other teachers did, then went back to kanji. I finally succumbed to the agony at about one, when all the families had gone home and there was just another two hours and 45 minutes of sitting there pretending to have something to do ahead of me, and asked if I could take two hours and 45 minutes of vacation and just go home. New principle, who isn’t crazy like the old principle, said yes, so I got the hell out of Dodge. I do not regret this use of my vacation hours because I’m not feeling that great and just couldn’t face the loss of my whole day like that.

I have to work all week like normal, but in 10 days my mum and sister will get here and I’ll have a long holiday with them. So the six-day work week won’t kill me. I have something happy to sustain me through the boring stretches.

In other news, I have a new camera! I’ve been using a four-year-old, 7.2 megapixel HP Photosmart, which was a good camera back when it was new, but not so much now. It’s also on its last legs and has been having issues. So now I’ve got a 14.1 megapixel Casio Exilim. It’s a dusky pink and a big upgrade. It’s just a point-and-shoot, nothing fancy or professional, but I’m not a photographer, I’m a chronicler. I take pictures to keep a visual record of where I’ve been and what I’ve done and who I’ve done it with; I don’t need a digital SLR. So, armed with my little pink camera and a 4gb SD card, I will go forth and chronicle. And then share the best bits on my blog.

That’s more or less all I’ve got right now. There isn’t much happening aside from work, but I’m trying to keep this thing from falling into disuse. Content will get interesting again in a couple of weeks, after my adventure with my family.

Any thoughts?

