New year, new start

So, I ended up being the most fail blogger ever back towards the end of 2010 and just dropped off the face of the earth. I kept telling myself that I’d post something, but then I didn’t and just let it go for a while. But I’ve decided that, what with it being 2011 now, I’d resurrect my faithful Japan blog and get back on it.

Actually, to be honest, I was planning on getting back into it in December, but something happened that stood in the way of blogging efforts. Most of the people who choose to follow my blog already know, but I’m going to talk about it anyway.

I was in a bicycle hit-and-run accident (on 12/12) and ended up with two broken bones in my right hand.

Yes, you read that correctly: a bicycle hit-and-run. The short version of events is that I was on my bicycle, on the left (Japan is a drive on the left country), and an old man was coming towards me on his left. There was enough space for both of us, but for some reason he veered towards me and crushed my hand between his handlebar and mine. There was the kind of sound you never want to hear, he yelled at me, and then rode off. Fortunately, I was with a friend, so I had someone to help, but it was pretty obvious immediately that something was broken. I waited about 45 minutes for someone to come get me to take me to a doctor, but because it was Sunday and Japanese hospitals aren’t open on Sundays (I know, you don’t have to say it) I had to wait till the next day to get proper care. As it turns out, the 3rd and 4th metacarpal bones (those are the long ones in the back of your hand) were broken. Badly enough that I needed surgery to get titanium plates put in. So I spent a night in the hospital (for the first time ever) and had surgery (for the first time ever, unless you count my wisdom teeth) and it sucked. A lot.

It was the worst I’ve ever been hurt. I had a week off work and couldn’t use my right hand at all, which was particularly bad because I’m right-handed, and I have to go back in March to get the plates out. But, as of yesterday, I don’t need to keep it wrapped up at all anymore and have about 50% use of it. It’ll take a while to get full strength and mobility back, but I’m not stuck trying to do everything with my left hand. The swelling and bruising is also about 95% gone, though you can kind of see the plates because my hands aren’t very thick. I’m keeping the scar covered with tape for a bit longer, as per the doctor’s instructions.

My hand, on 1/6/11. This is pretty much how it's going to look until the plates come out.

My plan in the future is to make up random stories to go with the scar. “Oh, this? It’s from when I got in a fight with a wolverine.”

It’ll be awesome.

There’s some other stuff I want to talk about, but I’m not ready to tackle it just yet. I’ll get there later on this month, or in February. It’s on the future blogging agenda, now that I’m actually blogging again. All in due time.

And, of course: 明けましておめでとうございます!

2 thoughts on “New year, new start

  1. I am glad to see your hand is getting much better and that you are still alive and in the blogosphere. Good luck getting better and gaining more mobility!

  2. That is a bitchin’ scar. Here’s an idea for a crazy scar story to tell nosy people – you broke it in the last round of the women’s lightweight boxing championship. Ooh or you could say it’s a new form of parasitic roundworm, and it’s highly contagious and the main symptom is insanity, then laugh maniacally. XD

Any thoughts?

